Milo’s 21K is NOT 21K!

I was intrigued my several claims over at Pinoyfitness that the Milo Marathon’s 21K route is actually longer than 21K.

So I went over to MapMyRUN and plotted the route according to the route map.  Comes out that the 21K route is 25K!  Check it out here.

I checked the 2011 route map.  The 42K route this year is the same as last year, but the 21K route is different.   Maybe the organizers changed it so that it coincides with the 42K route?

I think this is unfair.  If the run is advertised as 21K then it should be 21K!  I can tolerate a discrepancy of 100 meters but a discrepancy of more than 2K is atrocious!!  There are many individuals who are aiming for personal records and who are probably joining because they feel that, based on prior 21K runs, they can beat the cutoff time of 2 1/2 hours.   My goal pace in a 21K is around 6-minutes per kilometer give or take a few.  A 4K discrepancy means 24 minutes!

Runners deserve an explanation!

Have any of you plotted the route?  If so, please share.  And spread the word if you also notice the discrepancy!

Update #1:  I asked for clarification in Runrio’s Facebook page.  They were quick to point out that the 21K was also IAAF-certified.  And checking the AIMS calendar of events the 21K is indeed listed.   So I guess that means Google Maps and MapMyRUN are the ones that are wrong.

Update #2:  Confirmed also that the 21K route of 2011 is the same as the 21K route of 2012.  The 2011 route map attached is inaccurate.

Leave a comment