Running for a cause

There is no shortage of runs that advocate a certain cause or runs that support a charity.  This weekend we have the Run For Integrity, a run that is “aimed at FIGHTING CORRUPTION head on” (though I wonder how running can be used to fight corruption), and a  SCHOlaRUN, a fun run activity organized by the St. Scholastica’s Academy Marikina Alumnae Association “to raise funds for financially-challenged but deserving scholar.”

I’ve always wondered about the “run for a cause” campaigns.  I’d like to believe that race organizers truly donate money to their worthy cause.  I’ve been in some alumni organizations and I would say that school organizations do as they have promised.  These organizations are typically run by committees and they are pretty much transparent about where they get their finances and how the money is utilized.  It wouldn’t hurt though for these organizations to publish the results.  In fact, I urge them to do so.  A lot of effort was put into getting people to participate and all it takes is one post in Facebook to report on the financial results.

But what about those runs that promote a certain advocacy, examples of which are the Run For Integrity event and, most recently, the Earth Day runs?  I look at these more of marketing gimmicks that real advocacy runs.  These “issues” are no-brainers. Who isn’t against corruption anyway? Who doesn’t want to preserve the environment?  These are easy hits.  And by the way, I joined the Natgeo run not because of their Earth Day cause, but simply because I wanted to run their route.

Of course we also have runs that support questionable advocacies.  The “Save the Marikina Watershed” run, nicknamed the “Del Run” in reference to Mayor Del De Guzman, got a lot of flak for its seemingly political advocacy.

Now what I’d like to see are runs that advocate controversial and possible divisive topics.  Can we have a run advocating the RH Bill, for example?  Or conversely a pro-life run?  Now those would be interesting events.  I dare some organizer to organize such an event.

3 thoughts on “Running for a cause

  1. I’m so happy you made a story about this. The reason why I run are:
    1) to support charities
    2) to improve my health and fitness and social life by befriending runners (hi Ms. Mars!)
    3) to improve PR times
    4) medals, freebies and all the rest

    I was a bit ashamed after seeing all those paraplegics and people with all sorts of diseases and disabilities joining runs-for-a-cause on TV and other media. I seemed to be in decent health with legs working properly so why shouldn’t I do the same? And so I started…

    And now I still continue to join even if people left and right are telling me charity angles are a sham and that at best, only 5% of proceeds actually go to charity.

    • Also forgot to mention my reason #1.5: if the runs are held in distant locales like trail runs, its to enjoy the clean air and beauty of Mother Nature.

Leave a Reply

