Change of plans. Am joining the Run with ME.

It’s the start of the new year and already I have to learn how to be flexible.  And accept no excuse.

I just got an SMS saying that my high school class reunion was moved from Saturday to Friday, making it extremely difficult to run the Run for Pinoy Glory.  I mean, even if I don’t imbibe copious amounts of alcohol, it is a sure bet that the party will extend to beyond midnight.  How can I wake up in time for the 5 am start?

Fortunately, there is the Run with ME event scheduled for February 8.   I really want to stick with my objective of doing long runs on the weekends leading to the Condura Skyway Marathon.  Now that I am assured of a good night sleep on Saturday, I can signup for that run, achieve my objectives,  show support for my alma mater (yes, I am an Atenean) as well as my college course (I am a proud Management Engineering graduate!), and donate funds to the Sendong victims!

Run with ME poster, a fun run to raise funds for the Ateneo College Scholarship Fund, sponsored by  the John Gokongwei School of Management (JGSOM), in partnership with the Management Engineering Association (MEA) and Foundation of Ateneo Management Engineering (FAME).

I checked out their Facebook page and found the map for the 21K:

Run with ME 21K map

It looks pretty awesome! The scenery will be a welcome change from the usual BGC and MOA routes.  According to the caption, the run will extend into UP and will include a run around the UP oval.   Now I am all pumped up to participate!  I’ve been participating in several Ateneo fun runs, but this will be my first time to run inside the UP campus since my college track-and-field days.

Historically, the Ateneo fun runs are not in the same calibre as the other events organized by the more marquee organizers.  For one, there are no timing chips and, from previous experience, there were not many kilometer markings.  But at least they have ample hydration stations and many run marshals.  As for the absence of a timing chip, I don’t expect to win any medals or to even establish a personal record.  It’s for a good cause.

For more info, visit their website or their Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

