How to get started in running

I used to run when I was a student.  That was more than two decades ago.  Since then I was doing some treadmill running, weight training, and some long-distance biking.  But nothing really serious.  It was something that I would do in my spare time.

Running was something that fascinated me.  It’s a simple sport.  All you really need to do is put one foot in front of the other.  All you really need is a pair of running shoes.  You don’t even need to get the most modern pair of shoes.   To get started in running, all you need to do is go outside and run.

But running isn’t easy.  I had a modest start. The first few meters were blissful.  But then all sorts of pains started to creep in.  My breathing laboured.   I felt light-headed.  My joints began to throb.  My hips hurt.  My shins hurt.  My ankles hurt.  My legs weighed like a ton.  After a few minutes, my strides turned to a shuffling gait and then devolved to a walk.

The trick to running is to keep at it.  It’s simplicity is what makes it a wonderful activity.  I believed that I just had to grin and bear it.  I just had to go on and pound the pavement.  As long as I kept at it, I knew that  the pain will disappear.  And, after about two weeks of running, the pain did disappear.

A 3-kilometer run then became a 5-kilometer run.  After a few months, 5K began to appear too short and I moved up to 10K.  After another few months, the 10K lost its challenge and I am now into 21K.

So if you want to get started on running, here’s my advice: just do it.  Don’t worry about running form or what shoes to use of what clothes to wear.  Don’t fret about training schedules.  Don’t worry about pace or time or distance.  Just go outside and take a run.

 

Leave a Reply

